The Coastal Bend Council of Governments was officially established on March 23, 1966, making it one of the earliest regional councils formed in the state. The organization was brought into being under an inter-county agreement approved by the Commissioners’ Courts of the original six member counties – Brooks, Duval, Jim Wells, Kleberg, Nueces and San Patricio. The original agreement was amended, and a revised version became effective on November 14, 1966. By March of 1967, six more counties – Aransas, Bee, Live Oak, Kenedy, McMullen and Refugio and nine cities – Rockport, Beeville, Alice, Kingsville, Corpus Christi, Robstown, Portland, and Mathis had also ratified the agreement. On September 13, 2013, then, Governor Rick Perry signed an executive order allowing McMullen County to move from the Coastal Bend to the Alamo Area Council of Governments. Today eleven counties and thirty-one cities comprise the Coastal Bend/State Planning Region 20 an area of 10,273 square miles with a population of nearly 596,853.

The Council is a voluntary association of cities and counties in eleven-county region centered around the Corpus Christi metropolitan area. It is one of twenty-four COGs in Texas, all legally defined as political subdivisions of the state. They are governmental agencies with legal responsibility for multi-jurisdictional planning in program areas such as emergency communication systems, criminal justice, solid waste management, environmental protection, and homeland security planning in addition to being the Area Agency on Aging, which has the responsibility for providing nutrition and social services for the elderly. They have no taxing authority and no police powers.

The Council is the designated economic development district responsible for economic development planning. Authorized by the Texas Regional Planning Act of 1965, as amended and codified, the Council is designated as the regional clearinghouse to review and comment upon grant applications submitted by entities throughout the region seeking state or federal funding. In addition, the Council provides technical assistance, service, and training to member governments in administration of area-wide programs. Financial support for these program activities is provided through local dues, state and federal grants that are matched by local monies, and other public and private funds.

The 73-member Board of Directors, the governing body of the Council, meets 11 times a year, usually on the fourth Friday of the month, except in November and December, when the board meets on the second Friday in December. These meetings, as well as those of all advisory committees held at the agency, are open to the public.

Membership in the Council is open to all governmental units in the 11-county Coastal Bend planning region, including counties, cities, and special districts. For county and city governments, dues are ten cents per capita, based on census data; a fee of $125 annually exists for special districts. Each county is allowed one representative for each 20,000 persons or fraction thereof. Each city is allowed one representative for the first 15,000 population and up to one additional representative for each additional 35,000 persons or fraction thereof. The countypopulation determines the possible votes for that county. If all the voting representatives were present at a Council meeting there would be 35 total votes possible based upon the latest census (2010). Special districts do not have a vote on the governing board.

The Council’s annual budget serves as a guide for financial planning and control. All departments of the Council are required to submit their federal and state program budgets to the finance department on or before the last day in September each year. The finance department uses these program budgets as the starting point for developing the Council’s proposed budget. The finance department presents the proposed budget to the budget committee for review prior to November 30 th . The budget committee is required to make a recommendation to the Board of Directors by mid-December. The Board of Directors is required to adopt the original budget by the end of December. The Board made supplemental budgetary appropriations throughout the year, the effects of which were not material. The appropriated budget is prepared by fund, function, and department. Department heads may make transfers of appropriations within a function. Budget-to-actual comparisons are provided in the Council’s Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.
 

Executive Leadership
 

Photo of J. Buckner


John P. Buckner

Executive Director
(361) 232-5326
john@cbcog98.org

Photo of V. Toomey


Veronica Toomey

Director of Finance
(361) 232-5327
veronica@fin.cbcog98.org

Photo of V. Monrreal


Viola Monrreal

Director of Area Agency on Aging
(361) 232-5155
viola@cbcogaaa.org 

John P. Buckner Executive Director john@cbcog98.org (361) 232-5326
Veronica Toomey Director of Finance veronica@fin.cbcog98.org (361) 232-5327
Susan Kiernan Senior Accountant accountant@fin.cbcog98.org (361) 232-5331
Frank Garcia Printer/Office Assistant frank@cbcog98.org (361) 232-5329
JJ Gonzalez Administrative/Accounting Assistant jorge@coastalbendcog.org (361) 232-5325
Juanita Hale Accountant juanita@fin.cbcog98.org (361) 232-5330
RJ Thomas Homeland Security Coordinator rj@cbcogem.org (361) 232-5340
Luci Rios Criminal Justice/Homeland Security Planner lucia@cbcogem.org (361) 232-5334
Jennifer Bostick Homeland Security Planner Jenn@coastalbendcog.org (361) 232-5082
Viola Monrreal Director of Area Agency on Aging viola@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5155
Gilbert Guajardo AAA Asistant Director gilbert@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5145
Felipa Wilmot Family Caregiver Program Specialist felipa@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5153
Letty Ochoa Benefits Counselor letty@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5075
Janie Marek Operations Manager janie@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5152
Sylvia Alvarado Options Counselor/IRA Specialist sylvia@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5333
Nelda Barerra Managing Local Ombudsman Nelda@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5146
Erika Luna Care Coordinator/BC/IRA erika@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5053
Shanice Mendoza Benefits Counselor shanice@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5075
Griselda Ramos Ombudsman/EBI Assistant Griselda@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5027
Monica Perez ADRC Housing Navigator Counselor MonicaP@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5341
Alexis Perez Administrative Assistant/IRA Specialist Alexis@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5148
Vacant Information Referral & Assistance Specialist (IRA)/BC aaa.admin@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5041
Betty Lamb Contracts Support betty@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5143
Jimmy Reynolds Data Management Assistant jimmy@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5154
Sally Edsill Administrative Assistant for Family Caregiver Support sally@cbcogaaa.org (361) 232-5156
Bea Gabrillo Network Operations bea@cbcog98.org (361) 232-5337
Becky Pawlik, ENP Network Operations becky@cbcog98.org (361) 232-5338
Mark Bohrer GIS Administrator mark@cbcog98.org (361) 232-5342
Noel Esquivel GIS Technician noel@cbcog98.org (361) 232-5157
Denise Garza GIS Assistant denise@cbcog98.com (361) 210-3103
Tory Atokuku-Vitz GIS Assistant tory@cbcog98.org (361) 210-3103
Emily Martinez Director of Planning & Economic Development emily@coastalbendcog.org (361) 210-3102
Mary Afuso Regional Disaster Recovery Manager Mary@coastalbendcog.org (361) 232-5332
Shelby Simms Community Outreach Coordinator shelby@coastalbendcog.org (361) 232-5328
Theresa Finch, P.G. Director of Environmental Planning theresa@cbcog98.org (361) 883-5743